Back to school, back to school…

In June, when I finished the final class of my final program, I wasn’t sad.

Sentimental, yes. Sad, no.

I was more than ready to start my life in the “real world” finally. After eight years of post-grad education, I was restless and tired of highlighting textbooks and overdosing on XL Tim Horton’s coffees (yes, the new sizes).

However, I seemed to have fallen and hit my head, or just have finally admitted to myself, that education, no matter how old you are or how long you’ve been in school is essential to our innate survival in this world.

I dreaded the initial meet and greet and as expected the questions of “why are you here?!” came up, but I didn’t expect it from my own teacher (a definitely appropriate, LOL can be placed here)! What can I say? I’m a glutton for punishment. I love to learn, expand my knowledge and be the best that I can.

I have no doubt that this class and my classmates will teach me something, that if had stayed in my ignorance, I would never know…

… or at least I’m hoping that’s the case… it would definitely make my crazy busy days and constant questioning of “are you insane?!” from my fellow staff members a bit easier to take with my morning XL coffee.

4 thoughts on “Back to school, back to school…

  1. I’m so glad there’s someone else like me! I too feel like I’ve spent too much time at school- four years of undergrad followed by a Master’s degree and now this certificate- but it’s good to know that someone else has gone down a similar path and shares the same view on education. I know it may be cliched thing to say, but education and learning really does broaden your perspective.

    • Thank you!! It’s always nice to have someone who understands and gets what additional education is all about! I don’t think there is anything bad with continuing to learn all throughout our lives, I mean how can there be harm in that?

Leave a Reply

